Friday, August 14, 2009

2009 Florida State League Hall of Fame Class

Florida State LeagueThe Florida State League announced the first inductees to the newly created Florida State League Hall of Fame. While the Stone Crabs are in their inaugural season and do not have anyone inducted,it is a list of baseball greats that have played in the league. The players will be inducted on November 9, 2009. The 2009 FSL Hall of Fame class includes:

Johnny Bench, 1965 Tampa Tarpons
Rod Carew, 1965 Orlando Twins
Gary Carter, 1972 West Palm Beach Expos
Rollie Fingers, 1965 Leesburg Athletics
James “Catfish” Hunter, 1964 Daytona Islanders
Freguson Jenkins, 1962/1963 Miami Marlins
Al Lopez, 1925/1926 Tampa Smokers
Eddie Murray, 1974 Miami Orioles
Stan Musial, 1940 Daytona Islanders
Jim Palmer, 1967/1968 Miami Marlins
Cal Ripken, Jr., 1979 Miami Orioles
Nolan Ryan, 1967 Winter Haven Mets
Joe Tinker, 1921 Orlando Tigers
Early Wynn, 1937 Sanford Lookouts
Stan Wasiak, 1983-86, Vero Beach (manager)
John Lipon, 1988-92, Lakeland (manager)
Mike Moore, Tampa Tarpons (general manager)
Harry Wendelstedt, Jr. (umpire)
Phil Cuzzi (umpire)
George Steinbrenner, Tampa Yankees (owner)


  1. Thanks for posting that Jim, I meant to earlier but got sidetracked on the draft. That is one heck of a list.

    Even if you happen to dislike one of them (or so) for some reason, you can't deny the talent. Congrats to the FSL on celebrating their history, and to the new HOF's.

  2. I'm not talented enough to do one of those WAR graphs, but I wonder who would win if I could? Ryan, Ripken, Musial?

    Probably Ripken. If anyone else reads Rally's site, please post career WAR for all the guys. My bet is Ripken, but Musial and Ryan should be close.

    The list is like a celebration of the 70s, well, except for the guy who got convicted of a felony. But that was a long time ago, so whatever.