Saturday, September 18, 2010

Vogt Wins 2010 Erik Walker Community Champion Award

Stephen Vogt was awarded the 2010 Erik Walker Community Champion Award. The award is given out by the Rays annually for teamwork, sportsmanship and community involvement. Vogt was awarded a trophy and $2,500 to the charity of his choice for winning the award.

Also nominated for the award was Joe Bateman, Paul Phillips, Chris Murrill, Robby Price, Victor Mateo and Eduar Quinonez. Vogt joins the list of recipients that include Ryan Wiegand (2009), Matt Spring (2008) and Pat Cottrell (2007).

The Erik Walker Community Champion Award is in memory of the late Erik Walker who's life was tragically cut short by a canoeing accident after his first professional season with Hudson Valley.


  1. As the scout who signed Erik, I'm glad that the organization created this award and continues to note it each year. Erik was a fine young man. Stephen is also a fine young man and a very worthy recipient.